PHSC meeting of five ambassador nominees or ambassadorial nominees in Singha Durbar

FILE: The Parliamentary Hearing Special Committee (PHSC) members attend a hearing of five out of 22 proposed ambassadors in Singha Durbar of the Capital on Tuesday, August 2, 2016. Photo: RSS
KATHMANDU: The Parliamentary Special Hearing Committee (PSHC) will be issuing a 10-day notice on the individuals recommended for Nepali ambassadors to 12 countries. The written protests and complaints can be lodged against the individuals with appropriate reasons and clarifications at the PSHC within the mentioned date. The Committee's meeting held today decided to issue the public notice, Committee Secretary Dhruba Ghimire said. The government on February 20 had recommended 14 individuals to head Nepal missions in 14 nations. Though two names from the list, Sharmila Parajuli (Oman) and Aasha Lama (United Arab Emirates), were reportedly withdrawn later after finding their involvement in agencies that outsourced Nepali workers to other countries, including Oman and UAE, and that those agencies had several charges relating to cheating and swindling poor workers; the name list the PHSC decided to begin hearings for includes Parajuli.* Instead, the name of Bharat Rayamajhi (recommended for Spain) is not included in the list. The nominees to face the parliamentary hearing are as follows:
  1. Yuba Nath Lamsal (Denmark)
  2. Lucky Sherpa (Australia)
  3. Mahendra Bahadur Singh (Saudi Arabia)
  4. Padam Sundas (Bahrain)
  5. Arjun Jung Bahadur Singh (South Korea)
  6. Bhim Udas (Myanmar)
  7. Dr Choplal Bhusal (Bangladesh)
  8. Prof. Bishwambher Pyakuryal (Sri Lanka)
  9. Ramesh Prasad Koirala (Qatar)
  10. Pratibha Rana (Japan)
  11. Sharmila Parajuli (Oman)
  12. Niranjan Thapa (Israel)