PM Dahal inaugurates operation of 744 local levels

KATHMANDU: Prime Minister Pushpa Kamal Dahal on Tuesday formally inaugurated the operation of 744 new local levels across the country amid a programme organised at the Lalitpur Metropolitan City in the Valley.

According to the new structure, there are now four metropolitan cities, 13 sub-metropolitan cities, 246 municipalities and 481 village councils (Gaunpalikas). All the local levels are to start their services from today itself.

PM Dahal said a new era of local level governance has started, addressing the function.

"Now the people can get easier access to the services that were earlier conducted from the Capital or from the district, zonal, regional headquarters."

He also thanked all for their contribution in bringing about the change and has urged the officials to provide service to the citizens.

He said the government is focused on conducting the local level elections.

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Federal Affairs and Local Development Kamal Thapa was also present in the programme.

A Cabinet meeting on Friday had announced the new local level structure in line with the 2015 Constitution.

Old structures of the local bodies –- VDCs and municipalities -- were officially dissolved to implement the new structure.