Kathmandu, April 14 President Bidhya Devi Bhandari today conferred various medals, awards, decorations and honours on 343 personalities — both living and dead — in recognition of their contributions to the country. The recipients of the awards were announced during the 11th Republic Day last year. According to the Ministry of Home Affairs, Nepal Ratna Maan Padavi, the highest civilian award, was presented to Puspalal Shrestha, also the founding general secretary of the Communist Party of Nepal, posthumously. Umeshlal Shrestha, son of late Puspalal, received the award from President Bhandari amid a special function organised at the office of the president. Similarly, music maestro Amber Gurung was posthumously awarded the Mahaujjwal Rastradeep and veteran culture expert Satya Mohan Joshi was awarded the Litterateur of the Century. President Bhandari also honoured former chief justice Om Prakash Mishra, singer and actor Hari Prasad Rimal posthumously, songwriter Dineshhari Adhikari and historian Dinesh Raj Panta, with Suprasidhha Praval Janasewa Shree award. Likewise, 96 other persons were awarded with Supraval Janasewa Shree, 162 persons were awarded with Praval Janasewa Shree and 74 persons with Janasewa Shree. Literary figure Jhamak Kumari Ghimire received the Kirtimaya Rastradeep award from President Bhandari.