Rastriya Prajatantra Party picks leaders for election campaign

KATHMANDU: The Rastriya Prajatantra Party on Thursday decided to hold 14 mass meetings in various parts of the nation in the run-up to the May 14 local level elections.

The party has decided to hold 14 mass meetings, each in the 14 zones, between April 23 and 27. Party Chairman Kamal Thapa and senior leader duo Lokendra Bahadur Chand and Prakash Chandra Lohani would address the mass meetings.

A Central Election Mobilisation Committee meeting presided over by Chairman Thapa made the decision.

The party also assigned its senior leaders to carry out preparations in in the 14 zones of the nation. The leaders have been directed to stay in the assigned regions till the elections.

According to a statement issued by the party spokesperson Bhuwan Pathak, the leaders sent to the zones are as follows:

  1. Mechi: General Secretary Rajendra Lingden
  2. Koshi: General Secretary Sunil Bahadur Thapa
  3. Sagarmatha: Vice-Chairman Ram Chandra Raya and Central Member Rajendra Gurung
  4. Janakpur: Ang Chhiring Sherpa
  5. Narayani: Vice-Chairman Rajeev Parajuli
  6. Bagmati: Vice-Chairman Buddhiman Gurung
  7. Gandaki: Joint General Secretary Hem Jung Gurung
  8. Dhawalagiri: Central Member Bhim Prasad Gauchan
  9. Lumbini: General Secretary Dhruva Bahadur Pradhan
  10. Rapti: Assistant General Secretary Manoj Pradhan
  11. Bheri: Central Member Prem Bahadur Bhandari
  12. Karnali: Central Member Dhan Bahadur Budha
  13. Seti: Joint General Secretary Chandra Bahadur Gurung
  14. Mahakali: General Secretary Jayanta Chand

Meanwhile, the party also formed a three-member committee to coordinate between the government and the party.

Vice-Chairman Buddhiman Tamang heads the committee comprising spokesperson Sushil Shrestha and Joint General Secretary Nilakantha Kafle.