Regulation for forming key House panels likely to be endorsed today

Kathmandu, June 16

The joint parliamentary meeting scheduled for tomorrow is likely to endorse the Joint Parliamentary Meeting Regulation, enabling formation of two powerful parliamentary committees, which will oversee implementation of constitutional provisions and appointment of chief justice, ambassadors and heads of constitutional bodies.

“The draft of the regulation is ready,” said Kesab Aryal, deputy spokesperson of the Parliament Secretariat. “If everything goes according to the plan, it will be approved tomorrow, paving the way for the formation of two joint committees.”

The two crucial joint parliamentary committees are: Public Hearing Special Committee and Constitution Implementation and Monitoring Committee. Each committee will comprise 15 members at the most from both upper and lower houses.

The Constitution Implementation and Monitoring Committee looks into implementation of constitutional provisions and issues directives if rights guaranteed by the constitution are not upheld. The Public Hearing Special Committee, on the other hand, conducts hearings for appointment of Supreme Court chief justice, ambassadors, and heads of constitutional bodies, such as the Commission for the Investigation of Abuse of Authority and National Natural Resource and Fiscal Commission.

Earlier, the House of Representatives had approved the House of Representatives Regulation, and the National Assembly had endorsed the National Assembly Regulation.

Endorsement of the House of Representatives Regulation has paved the way for the formation of 10 thematic committees on finance; international relations; law, justice and human rights; women and social; development and technical; education and health; state affairs and good governance; public accounts; industry, commerce, labour and consumer welfare; and agriculture, micro-finance and natural resources.

Each of these committees, which will oversee the government’s activities, will have a maximum of 27 members from the lower house.

The upper house, on the other hand, will have four committees, according to the National Assembly Regulation. They are Sustainable Development and Good Governance Committee; Legislation Management Committee; Delegated Management and Government Assurance Committee; and National Concern and Co-ordination Committee. Each of these committees will have a maximum of 15 members from the upper house.

“The upper house will also start making preparations beginning tomorrow to conduct a lucky draw to decide on the tenure of its members,” said National Assembly Secretary Rajendra Phuyal. The existing members of the upper house will serve for two, four and six years based on the outcome of the lucky draw scheduled for Monday.