SC appoints Bam, Sitaula

KATHMANDU: Chief Justice Anup Raj Sharma today appointed Rana Bahadur Bam and Mohan Prakash Sitaula as permanent justices of the Supreme Court.

The posts were vacant after former Chief Justices Kedar Prasad Giri and Min Bahadur Rayamajhi were retired.

Chief Justice Sharma appointed them as per Article 103 (1) of the Interim Constitution of Nepal, 2007 after the parliamentary hearing special committee unanimously endorsed their names.

The CJ also administered the oath of office and secrecy for them this evening. Bam and Sitaula were ad hoc judges of the Supreme Court for last one and a half years.

During the hearing, the justices have expressed their commitment to uphold ongoing reform process in the judiciary and fight against corruption.

According to them there is a need to intervene on delayed justice and bribery in courts.

Justice Bam said he would make efforts in prompt adjudication process and control corruption and bribery as the judiciary has been facing these blames.

Justice Sitaula also expressed his commitment that he would work to reform the judiciary and control the shortcoming in the judiciary.