SC stays sacking of political appointees

Kathmandu, July 15

The Supreme Court today stayed the sacking of six government officials who were appointed by the Sher Bahadur Deuba-led government.

Among the political appointees who got the government’s decision stayed are General Manager of Nepal  Water Supply Corporation Bhupendra Prasad, member of the NWSC Board Lilaram Sharma, Executive Officer of Nepal Stock Exchange Ltd Board Chandra Singh Saud, Chair of  Minimum Wage Fixing Committee Chairman Gangadhar Parajuli, Member of National Cooperatives Development Board Bimal Kumar Niraula, Chairman of Guthi Sansthan Min Raj Chaudhary and Administrator of Guthi Sansthan Narayan Chaudhary.

A single bench of Justice Dambar Bahadur Shahi stayed the government’s decision to sack the officials till further hearing.

The Supreme Court will decide in the next hearing whether or not the interim order issued today should continue. Both sides will present their arguments in the next hearing. The apex court also issued show cause notice to the government.