Survivors Nepal elects executive committee

Kathmandu, December 1

The 1st Annual General Meeting of Survivors Nepal held recently unanimously elected a seven-member new executive committee.

Survivors Nepal is a movement that sprouted out after the April 25 earthquake. The new executive committee headed by president Sushil Koirala comprises Nirakar Shrestha (vice president), RC Lohani (treasurer), Dr Pujan Rai (secretary), and Sadish Shrestha, Babita Sedhain and Bibek Bhandari (members), said a press statement issued by the organisation.

Registered formally on May 11, Survivors Nepal had provided relief aid, mostly tarpaulin sheets, medical supplies and health care in areas most affected by the quakes and started its work within four days of the disaster.

In most places, aid from Survivors Nepal was the first to reach to the earthquake-affected.

Survivors Nepal is now focusing on recovery work, mainly construction of temporary school shelters, reconstruction of schools, prevention of post-disaster health effects and primary health care and improving the victims’ access to government rehabilitation packages through legal aid.

Newly elected president and co-founder of the organisation Koirala presented the updates of the work done till date and also explained the future plans and commitment of the organization. Treasurer and co-founder Shrestha presented the financial report.

The programme was inaugurated by Arun Singh Basnet, chairperson, Help Nepal Network, the largest charitable network in Nepal.