TU forms panel to assess challenges, advise solutions

Kathmandu, November 22

A meeting of Executive Council of Tribhuvan University held today formed a seven-member high-level committee under the coordination of Prof Dr Ramesh Kanta Adhikari, former dean, Institute of Medicine, to conduct a study on challenges facing the University and recommend solutions.

A press statement issued here today by Bhola Prasad Dhakal, spokesperson, TU, said the committee would submit its report after studying ways to permanently end the long-standing debate over appointment of dean and other officials of IoM and recommend steps for the development of IoM and the university.

On November 13, Tribhuvan University had appointed Prof Dr Keshab Prasad Singh as the Dean of Institute of Medicine but from the same day, Dr Govinda KC, senior orthopedic surgeon at Tribhuvan University Teaching Hospital started his hunger strike, demanding the decision be rectified.

Other members of the committee include former deans of IoM Prof Dr Kumud Kumar Kafle, Prof Dr Prakash Sayami and Prof Dr Rakesh Prasad Shrivastav; former executive director of TUTH Prof Dr Manohar Prasad Gupta; and Chief of Planning Division Prof Dr Ridish Kumar Pokharel.

Bishnu Prasad Khanal, member secretary of TU Monitoring Committee, is the member-secretary of the high-level committee.