Nepal | July 10, 2020

UML, Maoist Centre to unify; strike seven point agreement

THT Online
Share Now:

Leaders of ruling left coalition sign a seven point agreement on unification of the two communist parties. (Photo: CPN-UML Secretary Pradeep Gyawali/Twitter)

KATHMANDU: The ruling coalition partners, CPN-UML and CPN Maoist Centre, have finally reached an agreement on unification of the two parties and signed a seven point agreement on the modality of the unification.

As per the agreement, the new party will be named Communist Party of Nepal (CPN). The agreement further states that Marxism-Leninism will be the guiding principle of the party.

UML Chairman and Prime Minister (PM) KP Sharma Oli, Jhala Nath Khanal, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Bam Dev Gautam and Ishwor Pokharel have signed the agreement on behalf of UML whereas Maoist Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, senior leaders Narayan Kaji Shrestha and Ram Bahadur Thapa have signed the agreement on behalf of the Maoist Centre.

The seven point agreement jointly signed by leaders of CPN-UML and CPN MC

The agreement has been signed on conclusion of the Party Unification Coordination Committee meeting held at Baluwatar this evening. Chairmen of both the parties had held several rounds of one-on-one talks prior to this agreement.

As per the agreement, People’s Multiparty Democracy (‘Janata ko Bahudaliya Janawad’ popularly known as Ja-Ba-Ja as propagated by late UML leader Madan Bhandari) and Maoism will be deliberated upon as the ideological lines of the party at the general convention of the unified party.

It is expected that  KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal will co-chair the party in a bi-chairman system until the general convention and that both will take turns in leading the government.

(Photo courtesy: Pradeep Gyawali)

Likewise, there have been talks of major party units to be vertically merged including the committee members.


The seven-point deal

  • Unified party to be called the Nepal Communist Party
  • Its general convention to take the final call on the party’s ideology
  • Till then Marxism and Leninism will be the ideological stand of the unified party
  • The strength of the standing committee, politburo and central committee will be small
  • Oli and Dahal to take turns to become the PM and to evenly split the tenure
  • Posts of the president and deputy speaker of the Parliament will go to UML and speaker and the vice-president to CPN MC
  • Ministerial berths decided



Follow The Himalayan Times on Twitter and Facebook

Recommended Stories:

More from The Himalayan Times:

Slick United ease to another win at struggling Villa

BIRMINGHAM: Manchester United kept up their impressive chase for a top-four spot with a comfortable 3-0 win at relegation-threatened Aston Villa in the Premier League on Thursday. The victory means United, who are now unbeaten in 17 matches in all competitions, became the first team s Read More...

Ward chair’s hand suspected in fertiliser black marketing

RAUTAHAT, JULY 9 While fertiliser crunch has affected farmers in Rautahat badly, complaints of black-marketing have also increased of late. As per a finding, fertiliser bought in the name of Srijansil Agriculture Cooperatives Limited, Bagmati Saving and Credit Cooperatives Limited and Unnatish Read More...

Nepal received India’s diplomatic note on the country’s new map last month, says NA panel

KATHMANDU, JULY 9 The Government of India had sent a diplomatic note to Nepal’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs after the Government of Nepal published a new political and administrative map of the country, depicting Limpiyadhura, Lipulekh and Kalapani as the country’s territories. Chair of th Read More...

One-on-one meeting of NCP co-chairs postponed

KATHMANDU, JULY 9 The much anticipated one-onone meeting between co-chairs of the ruling Nepal Communist Party (NCP) Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal did not take place today. Deputy Parliamentary Party leader of NCP Subas Chandra Nembang, who is close to PM Oli, told THT th Read More...

Preparations on to prevent possible disaster

BHOJPUR, JULY 9 A multi-party meeting of Bhojpur District Disaster Management Committee held under the chairmanship of Chief District Officer Basanta Raj Puri today decided to be prepared for any eventuality that may occur due to the monsoon. Federal lawmaker Sudan Kiranti was also present at Read More...

Bharatpur Hospital

Bharatpur Hospital providing dialysis service to COVID patients

CHITWAN, JULY 9 Bharatpur Hospital, which is treating coronavirus infected people of Chitwan and its surrounding areas, has also started providing dialysis service to coronavirus-infected kidney patients. Kidney disease specialist at Bharatpur Hospital, Dr Santosh Gurung, said the hospital had Read More...

Infection rate high among returnee migrants

RAJBIRAJ, JULY 9 High rate of COVID-19 infection has been seen among people returning from third countries at present, while the infection rate was high among returnees from India two months ago in Saptari. According to District Public Health Office, of the 154 COVID infected persons being tre Read More...

Landslide sweeps away water pipes in Dhading

DHADING, JULY 9 Locals at Chhumrang Village are facing acute drinking water crisis after landslides swept away drinking water pipes at Rubivalley Rural Municipality, in Dhading. The villagers are compelled to drink collected rainwater as they cannot clear away the mudslip to connect the pipes Read More...