UML names politburo members

Kathmandu, March 30:

The central committee meeting of the CPN-UML today appointed 10 senior leaders as the standing committee members of the party.

According to a CPN-UML statement issued today, Madhav Kumar Nepal, Jhala Nath Khanal, KP Sharma Oli, Bam Dev Gautam, Ashok Rai, Biddhya Bhandari, Ishwor Pokhrel and Bishnu Poudel, Shankar Pokhrel and Yuva Raj Gyawali were appointed politburo members.

The meeting also nominated Madhav Kumar Nepal, who served the party as the general secretary for 14 years, as the senior most leader of the party. The party also decided to play a constructive role in the winter session of the legislative parliament.

The central committee meeting, first after the eighth general convention, was on for the fourth day today.