After days of reunion-centred dialogues, the two rival factions of the ruling CPN-UML have finally reached a consensus on 'agreeing to agree'.

The taskforce formed to resolve existing issues between the two sides has struck a 10-point deal for now and will now apprise the two leaders of the agreement.

The two sides have decided to resolve all existing differences, deal with issues internally for now.

A 14-hour long meeting of leaders representing the dissident sides facilitated the possible coming together of party chair Prime Minister KP Sharma Oli and senior UML figure Madhav Kumar Nepal, who have been at loggerheads with each other for months.

Leaders Subash Nembang, Bishnu Paudel, Pradeep Gyawali, Shankar Pokhrel and Bishnu Rimal have been initiating talks on Oli's behalf with Nepal-Khanal faction leaders including Bhim Rawal, Ghanashyam Bhusal, Surendra Pandey, Gokarna Bista and Raghuji Panta.

While the leaders from Oli-led side had assembled at Singhadurbar early on Sunday morning, members of the 'unity-taskforce' from Nepal's circle had reached the venue relatively late.

Before resumption of the meeting, the agreement paper prepared by Oli-faction leaders was sent back by Nepal as he disagreed to the usage of certain terms that, he claimed, would misguide the courts.

However, the two sides have agreed to put differences aside, on paper, and move towards reconciliation for now, in what can be termed a breakthrough deal.