23 Sankhuwasabha VDCs remain in dark

Sankhuwasabha, October 2:

Only 10 VDCs and a municipality out of 33 VDCs and a municipality in Sankhuwasabha district

have access to electricity.

The Khandbari-based office of Nepal Electricity Authority (NEA) said electricity was available in the VDCs including Tamaphok, Aankhibhui, Maling, Madirambeni, Madimulkharka, Siddakali,

Chainpur, Wanesor and Wana and Khandbari municipality.

Electricity has been provided in the district from the national grid via Dhankuta.

Three megawatt of electricity is generated from Piluwakhola Hydro Electricity Project and 250 kilowatt is generated from Nigure Small Hydro Electricity Project in the district.

The irony is that the projects cannot operate on their own and need power supply from the

national grid to operate their generators.

“As the district-based projects could not operate on their own, locals are facing problems,” Parshuram Karki, a staff at NEA district office in Khanbari said.

The NEA office also said the government was not taking any initiative to extend electricity to other Village Development Committees.

Operation of mills and furniture industry has been affected due to the irregular power supply, a local businessman, Tarjan Adhikari, complained.