319 PR candidates in closed list in Province 4

Pokhara, November 21

There are 319 candidates from 20 parties in the closed list of the Election Commission for 24 seats under the provincial assembly’s proportional representation system in province 4.

The Election Commission has prepared a final list of 3,565 candidates for the provincial assembly for November 26 and December 7 polls across the country.

Province 4 has 36 seats under the-first-past-the-system and 24 proportional representation seats at the provincial assembly.

In this province, the CPN-Maoist Centre and CPN-UML submitted separate lists for proportional representation system. Despite the electoral alliance under the directly-elected system, the two left parties submitted separate list of candidates.

NC sent the names of 23 candidates while the Maoist and UML sent a list of 24 candidates each.

Naya Shakti, Rastriya Prajatnatra Party and RPP-Democratic also submitted a list of 24 candidates for the proportional system.

To earn a seat under the PR system, a party has to garner 1.5 per cent valid votes of the total valid cast votes. To gain recognition as a national party, a party has to earn 3 per cent votes in proportional system and one seat in the first-past-the-post system.

A ballot paper with 82 symbols has been printed for the PR electoral system in province 4.