32 Doti polling centres sensitive

Dhangadhi, June 22

The District Security Committee Doti has declared 32 polling centres sensitive for the upcoming civic polls slated for June 28.

The centres were announced sensitive taking into account the geographical remoteness, security access and possible criminal activities during the local level polls.

Six polling centres of Bogtan Rural Municipality and four of Badikedar Rural Municipality were declared highly sensitive centres while three polling centres of Adarsh Rural Municipality, five of Purbichauki, four of KI Singh Rural Municipality have been declared sensitive. Likewise, three of Bogtan Rural Municipality, five of Sayal Rural Municipality and two of Jorayal Rural Municipality have been declared sensitive polling centres in the district.

A large number of security personnel have been deployed at the sensitive centres. Those centres will be guarded by Nepal Police, Armed Force and mobile patrols of Nepali Army personnel.

“All necessary security arrangements have been set up for phase II civic polls,” said District Security Committee Coordinator and Chief District Officer Gokarna Prasad Sharma.

There are 101,021 voters in Doti, which has seven rural municipalities, two municipalities and 65 wards. The polls will be held from 115 polling booths and 155 polling centres.