60 pc turnout in repolling in Sarlahi

Sarlahi, April 15:

Today’s reelection in the Janaki School polling station A and B in Phulparasi VDC in Sarlahi district Constituency No 5 was held peacefully today with some 60 per cent turnout.

Voting in the stations had been postponed after a Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (MJF) candidate for the constituency Ashok Kumar Yadav seized and destroyed ballot papers on April 10 election.

Yadav is now in police custody for destroying the ballot papers, SP Ganesh KC said. Nepali Congress leader Nagendra Raya, CPN-Maoist’s Thagaram Chamar and Tarai Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP)’s Jangilal Raya are in a triangular contest in the constituency.

Repolling will be held in Balara VDC building polling station A and B, Balara School polling station, Mirjapur Janata School polling station A and B, Koiri Tole Police Building polling station B in Arnaha VDC and Baluwatar Primary School polling station in Gadahiya VDC on Thursday, the District Election Office has said.

A report from Rautahat said the CPN-Maoist candidate Prabhu Shah won the constitution assembly (CA) election from Rautahat 3 while Govinda Chaudhary of Tarai Madhes Democratic Party (TMDP) won from Rautahat 5, today.

In Rautahat Constituency No 3, Shah defeated Ram Kishor Yadav of Madhesi Janaadhikar Forum (MJF) securing 11,625 votes against 10,903. Shekharasid Ali of Nepali Congress finished third with 4,255 votes, the district election office said.

In constituency no 5, TMDP’s Govinda Chaudhary obtained 11,772 votes against his nearest rival Bindeshwor Raya Yadav of CPN-Maoist, who got 9,235 votes. NC candidate Anirudra Yadav trailed with 8,117 votes.