The Election Commission's deadline for CPN-UML elected representatives to choose either the mother party or a newly split CPN(Unified Socialist) led by Madhav Kumar Nepal expired yesterday.

As per the data with the District Election Office, 83 people's representatives earlier elected from CPN-UML in 18 local levels have opted to join the newly formed party. The elected representatives had presented themselves at the election office to declare their choice of the party.

Similarly, 87 people's representatives elected from Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal have chosen to join the Mahantha Thakur-led Democratic Socialist Party. In Gaur alone, 32 out of 36 people's representatives have decided to join the Thakur-led party.

A version of this article appears in the print on September 9 2021, of The Himalayan Times.