Kathmandu, February 28:

The first ever Free Students’ Union (FSU) election held at Acme Engineering College, Sitapaila, elected a mixed panel of All Nepal National Independent Students’ Union-Revolutionary (ANNISU-R), All Nepal National Free Students’ Union (ANNFSU) and Nepal Students’ Union (NSU).

While the ANNISU-R won in the posts of president and joint secretary, the ANNFSU bagged vice-president and secretary.

The NSU won the rest of the posts, including the treasurer and joint treasurer, of the first FSU in any Purbanchal University-affiliated college.

Kulbhusan Shekhar Sharma was elected president, Aabis Bartaula vice-president, Dilli Raj Limbu secretary, Gajendra Prasad Dev joint secretary, Prativa Poudel treasurer and Purna Man Yadav was elected joint treasurer.

Sabita Choudhary, Santosh Koirala, Jyoti Tamang, Prasanna Thapa, Jyoti Bharati, Laxmi Narayan Yadav and Abdul Al-haq Ansari were elected members in the FSU.

The Purbanchal University had agreed to hold FSU election at AEC, after students’ agitation.

All other colleges affiliated with the varsity has Students’ Council instead of the FSU.

The voting began at 7 am and continued till 1 pm yesterday. The vote counting began at 4 pm yesterday and the results were announced at 2 am this morning. A total of 875 out of

the 1,100 students enrolled in the college had cast

their votes.