Anuradha Koirala assumes office as governor of Province 3

HETAUDA: The newly appointed governor of province 3, Anuradha Koirala has assumed office at the temporary provincial headquarters, Hetauda, on Saturday evening.

CNN Hero 2010 awardee and founder of Maiti Nepal, Koirala arrived in Hetauda this afternoon.

She was welcomed by parliamentarian Krishna Prasad Dahal from constituency 1 in Makwanpur district, newly elected state assembly members Dormani Paudel, Kumari Moktan, Prem Bahadur Pulami, Munu Sigdel, Juneli Shrestha and Regional Administrator Reshmi Raj Pandey, at the Central Regional Administration Office in the district.

Similarly, security heads of the province, various government authorities and District Coordination Committee Chairman were also present on the occasion.

After assuming the office, Koirala urged all to move ahead as per the constitutional spirit for the development of the nation.

Earlier, the government had appointed Govinda Subba as governor of province 1, Ratneshwar Lal Kayastha for province 2, Anuradha Koirala for province 3, Baburam Kunwar for province 4, Umakant Jha for province 5, Durga Keshar Khanal for province 6 and Mohan Raj Malla for province 7 in farwest region.

The President Bidya Devi Bhandari had administered oath of office and secrecy to all the newly appointed seven state heads amid a special ceremony at the president's office at Sheetal Niwas, in Kathmandu, on Friday.

The social worker Anuradha Koirala had joined mainstream politics via Nepali Congress on November 12, 2017.