Ballot papers for 18 districts printed

Kathmandu, March 24

The Election Commission today said printing of ballot papers for 18 districts had been completed.

The election body, which had started printing ballot papers from Sunday, said the design of the ballot papers for additional four districts was sent to Janak Education Material Centre today.

The EC had entrusted JEMC with printing 16 million ballot papers in different sizes for the local level elections slated for May 14.

Election Commissioner Narendra Dahal said ballot papers were being printed amid high security.

Earlier, the Election Commission had asked Nepali Army to provide security for printing ballot papers.

“We are doing our best to hold local level elections on the stipulated date,” said Commissioner Dahal, adding that the EC was following the schedules it had prepared for the civic polls. He claimed the EC on its part had not left any stone unturned to make preparation for the polls.

According to commissioner Dahal, districts, of which the commission has completed printing ballot papers, are comparatively small in terms of the number of voters. He said the JEMC had also completed packaging of printed ballot papers.

The EC had started printing ballot papers prior to registration of candidates.

The commission said it had printed election symbols of political parties represented in the Parliament in order of votes they secured in the second Constituent Assembly election. Other new parties and independent candidates will have to contest polls under the symbol given by the EC.

The EC said printing of ballot papers would be completed within six weeks.

The commission said it would start printing of voters identity cards on the premises of its central office once it updated the voters’ addresses.

Meanwhile, the commission said 64 district election offices had finalised polling centers. Earlier, the commission had asked its district offices to finalise polling stations by March 23.

“Only 64 district election offices have sent their reports on polling stations,” said EC’s Spokesperson Surya Prasad Sharma.