Bibeksheel contesting in Baitadi, Kailali and Kanchanpur polls

KANCHANPUR: Enthused with a sizeable number of votes Bibeksheel Nepali Party  polled in the  first round of local level elections in Kathmandu, the party has also tested the waters by fielding candidates in Baitadi, Kailali and Kanchanpur districts for the June 28 polls.

Bibeksheel's Ranju Darshana, who ran for mayor in Kathmandu Metropolitan City in the first phase of elections held on May 14,  had garnered a sizeable votes. She got 23,439 votes while CPN-UML's Bidya Sundar Shakya, who was elected mayor of Kathmandu Metropolis, secured 64,913 votes.

Bibeksheel was a new party to contest in the election fray and the votes it has managed to garner are considered to be comparatively higher for the new party.

Bibeksheel is running for major positions including mayor and deputy mayor in municipalities in the districts. Bibeksheel's Arjun Singh Dhami is vying for mayor in Shuklaphanta Municipality while Dil Bahadur Saud for ward chairperson of municipality-11. Dhami is building career in modeling sector while Saud is a social worker.

Likewise, Bharat Raj Panta is competing for mayor in Patan Municipality in Baitadi. Tek Raj Kathayat has filed his candidacy for deputy mayor in Lamki Chuha Municipality in Kailali.

The party has put forward the agenda for controlling corruption and maintaining transparency, establishing blood bank, launching land reforms, ensuring equal and easy access to health, controlling drug abuses, expanding electricity, and developing  education and agriculture sectors among others.