Conflict victims allowed to move SC against TRC Chairman Gurung

Kathmandu, March 24

The Supreme Court today repealed its registrar’s refusal to register a writ petition that conflict victims wanted to file at the SC seeking action against Truth and Reconciliation Commission Chair Surya Kiran Gurung.

Three conflict victims  — Tej Kumari Budhathoki, Mohan Oli and Kalyan Budhathoki — wanted to file a writ petition seeking removal of TRC Chair Surya Kiran Gurung for his alleged absence from the TRC and lack of efficiency but the SC administration had refused to register their petition against which

conflict victims had filed another petition.

A single bench of Justice Kedar Prasad Chalise passed the order.  Conflict victims are likely to register their joint petition in the SC on Sunday.

The petitioners have claimed that the Council of Ministers should take action against Gurung for lack of efficiency.

Conflict victims had tried to move the apex court on March 2, but the SC registrar refused to accept their petition attaching reasons for refusal on the petition against which the petitioners filed another petition seeking repeal of the registrar’s refusal order.

The petitioners claim that the TRC has not convened any meeting after February 2. In the petition they are planning to register in the SC, they have pointed out that although Gurung had been attending public programmes as the chairman of a constitutional body, he had not been attending office, adversely impacting investigation into the conflict-era cases.

The victims have also demanded that Gurung be removed from TRC. They pointed out that although TRC member Madhabi Bhatta had filed a petition on February 16 at the TRC demanding that TRC meeting be convened, no action was taken on her plea.