The four-party alliance comprising Nepali Congress, CPN-Maoist Centre, Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal, and Janamorcha has replaced CPN-UML to take charge of the government in Lumbini.

Governor Amik Sherchan, as per Clause 168 of the constitution, administered the oath of office and secrecy to CPN-MC parliamentary party leader Kul Prasad KC and six ministers this evening.

A seven-member council of ministers has been formed with Janata Samajbadi Party-Nepal parliamentary party leader Sahasaram Yadav as physical planning and infrastructure development minister, Nepali Congress' Dilli Chaudhary as rural and urban development minister, CPN-MC's Krishnadwaj Khadka as financial affairs and planning minister, and JSP-N lawmakers Suman Sharma Rayamajhi and Purmati Dhega and independent Ajaya Shahi as ministers without portfolio.

The formation of the Cabinet has been in line with the agreement among the three parties who have agreed that the CPN-MC will lead the government for eight months until February 15, whereas for the remaining eight months, the NC will lead the government under the leadership of its PP leader Birendra Prasad Kanaudiya.

All three JSP-N PA members have become ministers as part of the pact. Janamorcha, however, has decided to stay out of the government.

Following the change in the government at the centre, Shankar Pokhrel faced statutory and moral pressure and tendered his resignation to the newly-appointed Governor Amik Sherchan, who urged parties to form an alternative government. KC then staked claim to form the government with the support of 41 PA members.

NC Chief Whip Fakarrudhhin Khan said the government would soon get full shape and seek a trust vote.

A version of this article appears in the print on August 13 2021, of The Himalayan Times.