CPN-MC, UML poll candidates ahead in Chitwan

Chitwan, December 8

Left alliance candidates have taken lead in vote counting of majority of provincial and parliamentary seats in Chitwan today.

Democratic alliance candidate Rastirya Prajatantra Party’s Bikram Pandey is ahead of his left alliance rival and CPN-Maoist Centre Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal in Constituency 3 of the district. Of the total of 1,239 votes so far counted, Pandey has garnered 687 votes while Dahal has bagged 473 ballots.

Of a total of 1,25,818 voters in the constituency, 93,826 cast their ballots.

Under the provincial election in Constituency 3 ‘Ka’, left alliance candidate Krishna Prasad Bhurtel is leading the vote count with Nepali Congress candidate Dinesh Koirala behind him. Likewise, CPN-MC candidate Ram Lal Mahato is ahead of NC’s Sajan Mahato in the constituency ‘Kha’.

UML parliamentary candidate Krishna Bhakta Pokhrel is in the leading position in Constituency 2 of the district. NC’s Shesh Nath Adhikari is in the second position. Under the provincial assembly election in Constituency 2 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’, CPN-MC’s Ghana Shyam Dahal and UML’s Bijaya Subedi are ahead of NC’s Jeet Narayan Shrestha and Prakash Adhikari, respectively.

Vote counting in Constituency 1 had resumed after disruption for a while on Friday evening. The trouble had started after NC parliamentary candidate Rajendra Burlakoti and his supporters left the vote counting venue, accusing the election officer of determining valid and invalid ballots without consultation with them.

Under the provincial assembly elections in Constituency 1 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ of the district, UML candidate Dawa Lama and Krishna Khanal are ahead of NC’s Dhan Bahadur Gurung and Uttam Acharya respectively.

There are a total of 3,54,036 voters in the district. Of them, 73.62 per cent voters cast their ballots in the second phase of provincial and parliamentary elections held on December 7, as per District Election Office, Chitwan, Chief Hari Dhakal.