UML blamed for failure to pass amendment bill

Kathmandu, August 22

The CPN-Maoist Centre today said that ‘arrogance’ of the main opposition CPN-UML was responsible for failure of the constitution amendment bill in the Parliament.

The long-awaited constitution amendment bill, brought to address the demands of agitating Madhesi forces, failed to garner two-third majority in the Parliament yesterday.

A meeting of the party’s central headquarters held today at Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal’s residence concluded that the bill was important to ensure the rights of Adivasi, Janajati, Madhesi, Muslim, Dalit, women and other minorities groups.

“We concluded that the failure of the bill was unfortunate for the nation,” said CPN-MC Spokesperson Pampha Bhusal. She alleged that the principal opposition party had created hurdles in forging consensus on serious issues of national importance.

The CPN-MC said the bill aimed to strengthen national unity by increasing acceptance of the constitution. The meeting also decided to urge the government to provide Rs 100,000 assistance to all flood and landslide victims, Rs 300,000 to the families of deceased people and Rs 500,000 for the reconstruction of demolished houses.

Bhusal said that the meeting also decided to mobilise the party’s all rank and file in the third phase of local level polls slated for September 18 in 136 local levels of Province 2 under Dahal’s leadership.

Earlier, the CPN-MC had mobilised senior leader Narayan Kaji Shrestha, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Matrika Yadav, Haribol Gajurel, Giriraj Mani Pokhrel and others to prepare for the third phase of local level polls.

The party has urged all its workers and the general public to assist flood victims.

Meanwhile, Bhusal said that over 300 leaders and party workers of Naya Shakti Party-Nepal led by Devendra Poudel joined the CPN-MC today.

Amid a function held here in Kathmandu, Chairman Dahal welcomed NSP-N leaders and party workers to his party. Most of the NSP-N leaders and party workers, who joined the CPN-MC today, were its former cadres.

A few days ago, influential NSP-N leader Ram Chandra Jha and other leaders had re-entered the CPN-MC.