Kathmandu, May 16

The main opposition party, CPN-UML, continued to lead even on the second day of counting as results of the first phase of local level polls trickled in from across Provinces 3, 4 and 6 that went to poll on May 14.

According to the Election Commission, CPN-UML candidates bagged mayoral or top posts in at least 15 local levels, including municipalities and rural municipalities. Apart from that, the party’s top post candidates are leading in 92 local levels.

The EC said ruling Nepali Congress was not far behind in the second place but CPN-Maoist Centre was trailing in the third position.

NC top post candidates were elected in at least 13 local levels, while 85 NC mayoral and other top post candidates are leading.

The poll panel added that CPN-MC top post candidates were elected in at least 11 local levels, while 36 of its candidates were leading in the race for mayor or rural municipalities’ chiefs.

In Kathmandu Metropolitan City, CPN-UML mayoral candidate Bidya Sundar Shakya was leading with 623 votes, while NC’s Raju Raj Joshi was in second position with 593 votes till 9:00pm.

The Election Commission said it would take at least one week to complete counting for KMC.

The EC stated that UML mayoral candidate in Lalitpur Metropolitan City, Harikrishna Benjankar, was leading with 4,811 votes, with NC’s Chir Babu Maharjan in second spot with 4,722 votes.  UML candidates also bagged posts of four out of five ward chiefs of Lalitpur Metropolitan City.

The party’s candidates were elected mayor in Thuli-Bheri Municipality of Dolpa and Narayan Municipality of Dailekh. Its candidates were elected chiefs in Shey Phoksundo Rural Municipality and Kaike Rural Municipality of Dolpa, Chame Rural Municipality and Nesyang Rural Municipality of Manang, Gharpojong Rural Municipality of Mustang, Shivalaya Rural Municipality of Jajarkot, Madi Rural Municipality of Kaski, Mahankal Rural Municipality of Lalitpur, Phedikhola Rural Municipality of Syangja, Devghat Rural Municipality of Tanahun and Goshaikunda Rural Municipality of Rasuwa district.

NC candidates were elected chiefs of Lo Manthang Rural Municipality, Dalome Rural Municipality and Barha Gaun Mukti Chhetra Rural Municipality of Mustang, Narfu Rural Municipality and Narshang Rural Municipality of Manang, Tamankhola Rural Municipality of Baglung, Kushe Rural Municipality of Jajarkot, Dungeshwor Rural Municipality of Dailekh, Patarashi Rural Municipality of Jumla and Bungdikali Rural Municipality of Nawalparasi.

CPN-MC candidate was elected mayor of Musikot Municipality. Its candidates were elected chiefs of Darma Rural Municipality of Salyan, Sanni Tribeni Rural Municipality of Kalikot, Marin Rural Municipality of Sindhuli, Hima Rural Municipality of Jumla, Tanjakot Rural Municipality of Humla, Jagadulla Rural Municipality and Guthichaur Rural Municipality of Jumla, Mudkechula Rural Municipality of Dolpa and Konjyosom Rural Municipality of Lalitpur district.


  • Local level election results so far