Dakneswori in grief as five die in accident

Rajbiraj, November 24

Death of five persons from the municipality in a bus accident last night has left Dakneswori Municipality in mourning in Saptari.

The bus ferrying devotees from Dakneswori Municipality had gone out of control and plunged into a pond at Inarwa of Hanumannagar Kankalini Municipality at 10:00pm last night. The bus was returning after devotees offered prayers at Sunsari’s Barahkshetra and attended Chatara fair.

According to District Police Office, Saptari, Bechani Devi Yadav, 70, Sikila Devi Sah, 60, Bhukhani Devi Yadav, 60, Dinesh Rajak, 55, and Bauki Devi Rajak, 50 of Dakneswori-4 and 5 died in the accident. Sharada Devi Rajak, deceased Dinesh’s neighbour, said no one in the neighbourhood had taken any meal after they heard the tragic news.

Bodies have been kept at Gajendra Narayan Singh Sagarmatha Zonal Hospital in Rajbiraj, while the injured are also receiving treatment at the same hospital. “After the news, the whole village is in mourning,” Sharada shared.

Another neighbour Bindeswor Rajak said no one had lit the stove in the village today due to the tragedy.

Critically injured PrabinYadav, Bechan Yadav, Arhul Devi Yadav, Anjani Kumari Yadav, Ram Udgar Yadav, Rewani Devi Yadav, Genawati Yadav, and Chandani Kumari Yadav were referred to Dharan-based BP Koirala Institute of Health Sciences for treatment, police said.

Inar Kumari Devi Pandit, Dhakani Devi Yadav, Bholawi Devi Yadav are being treated at BPKIHS, Dharan, according to Superintendent of Police Bhabesh Rimal.

Similarly, critically injured Sukuniya Devi Pandit and Chandra Kumar Yadav were referred to Biratnagar-based Neuro Hospital while Archana Kumari Yadav was referred to Biratnagar-based Nobel Hospital. Remaining 34 are being treated at Rajbiraj-based Gajendra Narayan Singh Sagarmatha Zonal Hospital.

Passengers blamed overloading and speeding for the accident.

Meanwhile, District Coordination Committee, Saptari, has decided to shut all local level offices tomorrow to mourn the death of people in the accident.

A meeting of the district coordination committee chaired by its chief PrabhakarYadav took the decision to close all 18 local levels in the district to mourn the tragedy tomorrow. Saptari is home to nine municipalities and as many rural municipalities.

Similarly, a meeting of Dakneswori Municipality today decided to provide Rs 25,000 each to the victims’ families

as funeral expenses. The municipality has also decided to provide support for the treatment of those injured in the accident.

Earlier, District Coordination Committee, Saptari, Chief Prabhakar and others had provided Rs 45,000 jointly to send the critically injured outside the district for treatment last night.