Bajura, February 3

Candidates close to Sher Bahadur Deuba have won most of municipal conventions in the far west region.

The results of election in 24 municipalities in the region show that the Deuba faction has claimed the president’s post in 18 municipalities, with six municipalities going to the establishment faction.

In Kailali, of the six municipalities, the Deuba camp has tasted victory in four, namely in Dhangadi sub-metropolis and Tikapur, Attariya and Ghodaghodi municipalities. The establishment faction-aligned leaders have made it in the remaining two municipalities — Bhajani-Trishakti and Lamki-Chuha.

In Kanchanpur, which has eight municipalities, Deuba camp has claimed all but one municipality. The faction has achieved victory in Bhimdatta, Dodhara-Chandani, Krishnapur, Punarbas,

Belauri, Jhalari-Pipaladi and Betkot municipalities, ceding Beldandi to the establishment faction-aligned leader.

While the Deuba faction is the forerunner in his home district Dadeldhura, elsewhere too, the faction has a relatively better grip. In Dadeldhura, leaders close to Deuba have clinched victory in Parshuram andAmargadhi municipalities.

Similarly, the Deuba faction has made a clean sweep in Achham, which has three municipalities — Mangalsen, Kamalabazaar and Sanfebagar. In Doti’s Dipayal-Silgadi and Bajhang’s Jayaprithvi, Baitadi’s Patan municipalities too it’s the Deuba-faction leaders who have tasted victory in the party convention.

Establishment faction-leaders have won Baitadi’s Dhasharathchanda, Bajura’s Badimalika and Darchula’s Api municipalities.

Commenting on the victory of the Deuba faction in most of the municipalities in the region, NC central member NP Saud described the results as a reflection of the cadres’ trust in Dueba and his ability to run the party. “Given the elections results, it can well be understood that he (Deuba) is the leader whom the partymen want to see as the next party chief,” he said.

While the presidential candidates were elected unopposed in Dhangadi, Dipayal Silgadhi and Badimalika municipalities, elsewhere voting took place to select them.

NC held its ward and village conventions across the country on Friday.