Discussion on work division starts in NCP

Kathmandu November 24

The Nepal Communist Party (NCP) has started discussion on the allocation of responsibilities to Central Committee members without forming its politburo.

In terms of authority and power, the politburo is below the Standing Committee and above the Central Committee. As per the

party statute, there should be 147 members in the politburo.

As per the understanding between party co-chairpersons KP Sharma Oli and Pushpa Kamal Dahal, erstwhile CPN-UML will have 82 members and erstwhile CPN-Maoist Centre will have 65 members in the politburo.

Erstwhile UML will nominate candidates for the politburo from among former members of its Central Committee and politburo, excluding National Assembly Chair Ganesh Prasad Timalsina, Attorney General Agni Kharel and Province 3 Speaker Sanu Kumar Shrestha, who were politburo members in the past.

Erstwhile CPN-MC will nominate politburo members from its old secretariat members, excluding Speaker Krishna Bahadur Mahara and Province 5 Speaker Purna Gharti Magar.

The two-member task force comprising General Secretary Bishnu Poudel and Secretariat member Ram Bahadur Thapa could not submit their complete report on the allocation of responsibilities to the Central Committee members in today’s meeting held

at Baluwatar.

“The Secretariat meeting was supposed to allocate responsibilities to CC members today but the task force did not do any concrete work on the issue,” a secretariat member told The Himalayan Times.