The swearing-in of the incoming elected people's representatives and the election programme for the municipal executive have commenced in the local levels where the final results of the May 13 local election have been announced.

Among the elected people's representatives, the chair of the rural municipality, the mayor of the municipality and the chief of the district coordination committee have to take the oath of office and secrecy before the District Judge of the district concerned within seven days from the date of his/her being elected and in accordance with the format stipulated in the Local Government Operation Act. Similarly, the vicechair of the rural municipality, the deputy mayor of the municipality, the ward chair, the members of the rural and municipal assembly and the deputy chief and members of the district coordination committee will have to take the oath of office and secrecy as per the designated format within seven days of the chair or the chief taking their oath.

The term of the office-bearers of the municipal executive has also automatically terminated with the new election.

The counting of votes under the election held on May 13 is completed in almost 85 per cent local levels. May 19 was considered the last day for the past local level people's representatives to remain in their posts and the election was held with the goal of completing the vote counting by that date. The Election Commission believes that the counting of votes at the local levels where it has not been concluded yet due to various reasons would be done within May 25. The EC had issued the required directives to the Election Officers concerned to finish the vote counting by May 19.

A version of this article appears in the print on May 21, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.