EC set to receive nominations for NA election

Kathmandu, January 23

The Election Commission has completed preparations for candidates to file nomination papers for the National Assembly election slated for February 7.

The poll panel said candidates could file their nomination papers at the office of the returning officers of their respective province from 10:00am to 4:00pm. The EC has set up offices of returning officers in Morang, Dhanusha, Lalitpur, Kaski, Dang, Surkhet and Doti districts, where candidates have to file nomination papers.

EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal said candidates have to show recommendation letter of their respective parties, copy of citizenship, copy of voter’s identity card and Bank voucher of Rs 10,000.

NA election contestants




Nepali Congress

CPN-Maoist Centre

Province 1

Nain Kala Ojha (Woman)

Bin Bishwakarma (Dalit)

Bina Pokhrel (Women)

Khem Nepali (Dalit)

Hari Charan Siwakoti (Open)

Parashumeghi Gurung (Open)

Agam Bantawa (Marginalised)”

Province 2

Suman Pyakurel (Open)

Sashi Kala Dahal (Women)

Province 3

Parvati Rawal (Woman)

Ram Bahadur Thapa (Open)

Udayaa Sharma (Woman)

Ganga Parajuli (Women)”

Singha Bahadur BK (Dalit)

Balaram Baskota (Open)

Beduram Bhusal (Open)

Ram Chandra Rai Danuwar (Marginalised)

Province 4

Ganesh Timilsena (Open)

Brinda Rana Magar (Women)

Dinanath Sharma (Open)

Shanti Adhikari (Woman)

Surendra Raj Pandey (Open)

Khim Bahadur BK (Dalit)

Ram Bahadur Thapa (Differently-abled)

Jeet Bahadur Nepali (Dalit)

Dipa Gurung (Woman)

Prakash Panta (Differently-abled)

Province 5

Ram Lakhan Harijan (Dalit)

Durga Prasad Upadhyaya (Open)

Raj Kumar Kunwar (Differently-abled)

Khim Lal Bhattarai (Open)

Anita Devkota (Woman)

Chandra Bahadur Khadka (Open)

Mina Budha (Woman)

Maikulal Balmiki (Dalit)

Komal Oli (Woman)”

Lut Bahadur Khatri (Differently-abled)

Province 6

Kavita Bogati (Woman)

Bishnu Bahadur Shahi (Open)

Jeevan Budha (Differently-abled)

Nandaa Sharma (Woman)

Surya Devi Malla (Women)

Yutul Lama (Women)

Narapati Lohar (Dalit)

Sita Ram BK (Dalit)

Bhairav Sundar Shrestha (Open)

Gopal Prasad Sharma (Differently-abled)

Kali Bahadur Malla (Open)

Thagendra Puri (Open)

Province 7

Kamala Oli (Woman)

Badri Pandey (Open)

Lali Ram Lohar (Dalit)

Indu Kadariya Bista (Woman)

Tara Bhatta (Women)

Hari Ram Chaudhary (Open)

Sher Bahadur Kunwar (Open)

Sheri Ram Parki (Dalit)

Chakra Prasad Snehi (Dalit)

Chhatra Raj Joshi (Differently-abled)


Candidates from Dalit quota and differently-abled or people from marginalised groups have to show proof of being Dalit, differently-abled or belonging to a marginalised group certified by the concerned government agencies to file nomination papers.

Six NA members — three women and three from the open category will be elected under the single transferable voting system from each province. The remaining two NA members — one Dalit and the other either from differently-abled or marginalised group — who get the highest numbers of votes, will be elected in every province. If two candidates get equal number of votes, the winner will be selected by the lucky draw method conducted by the EC staffer.

Of the 59 NA members, eight will be elected from every province and three NA members will be nominated by the president on the recommendation of the prime minister, as per the constitution.

Meanwhile, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav asked all the political parties concerned to file nomination peacefully and enthusiastically.

Addressing an orientation programme on ‘voting and vote counting’, CEC Yadav asked all the participants to learn the voting and vote counting techniques properly and teach their candidates and voters. Representatives of 21 political parties, registered with the EC to contest the NA election participated in the orientation programme.

According to a press release issued by EC Spokesperson Navaraj Dhakal, CEC Yadav urged all the stakeholders, including the government, to create conducive environment for holding the NA election in a free, fair and impartial manner. Dhakal said that the EC had informed the parties about the types and size of ballot papers, voting and vote counting techniques and also transfer of surplus votes. The EC has decided to use four types of ballot papers in two colours and use Weighted Inclusive Gregory Method (WIGM) to transfer surplus votes to parties.

EC commissioners Narendra Dahal, Ishwori Prasad Paudel, Sudhir Kumar Shah and EC Secretary Begendra Raj Sharma were also present at the programme.