The Supreme Court has acquitted four former chief justices of contempt of court charge.

Advocate Dhanjit Basnet and others and Advocate Lochan Bhattarai and others had separately filed contempt of court cases against former chief justices Kalyan Shrestha, Min Bahadur Rayamajhi, Sushila Karki, and Anup Raj Sharma for issuing a statement terming the dissolution of the House of Representatives unconstitutional.

The four former CJs had issued the statement after the KP Sharma Oli government dissolved the House in December 2020.

The Oli government later dissolved the House for second time in May. The SC termed both dissolutions unconstitutional.

A division bench of Chief Justice Cholendra Shamsher JB Rana and Justice Sapana Pradhan Malla ruled that the writ petitioner's claim could not be established. The court is yet to prepare the text of the verdict.

A version of this article appears in the print on October 2, 2021, of The Himalayan Times.