A panel of independent candidates from the Dalit community was elected in Kankasundari Rural Municipality-8 in Jumla district, including the ward chair.

Dhan Bahadur Kami was elected ward chair with 288 votes. His closest contender Kaptan Bahadur Shahi, a Nepali Congress candidate, had garnered 220 votes.

Likewise, independent candidates from Dhan Bahadur's panel -- Gol Damai and Karnajit Sarki were elected ward members.

Similarly, Chanaki Kulal, also an independent candidate, won the elections for dalit woman ward member.

Meanwhile, in the same ward, Ramu Devi Kafle of Nepali Congress was elected Ward member in the women's quota.

Dhan Bahadur, Chanaki Kulal, Gol Damai and Karnajit Sarki were nominated by the Dalit community in the rural municipality for the office of ward chair and members.

The panel had rejected offers to run for office from established parties stating that the community's issues largely went unaddressed by the parties even after the implementation of federalism, and that transformation would only be possible under the leadership and with the representation of members of the community.