Four schools shut down in Tanahun

Damauli, July 27

A total of four primary schools in Byas Municipality, Tanahun, have been shut down due to lack of students.

Narayan Dutta Poudel, resource person at Damauli Resource Centre said Bhadra Primary School of Byas -14, Bhadrakali Primary of Byas -10, Saraswoti Primary of Byas -10 and Tanahun Primary of Byas 11 were closed for want of students.

The teachers of these schools have been adjusted in other schools of the municipality and the property belonging to these schools was also handed over to other schools in the vicinity.

District education development and coordination unit chief Ram Prasad Sharma said they had made use English as a medium of instruction mandatory at all community schools to attract students.

“We are also trying to improve quality of education in all the 80 primary and secondary schools in the municipality as guardians are worried about their wards’ future due to the closure of community schools in their locality,” said Sharma.

As many as 20 community schools were closed due to lack of students in the district last year alone.