FSU Polls: NSU, ANNFSU face dissent

Kathmandu, March 10:

As many as four factions of Nepal Students’ Union and two factions of All Nepal National Free Students Union (ANNFSU) have filed separate panels of candidates for FSU polls in

several colleges of the Valley. Monday was the deadline for filing candidacy for the FSU polls in many TU-affiliated colleges.

The FSU polls are scheduled for March 19.

Two panels led by Shiva Bahadur Bohora and Mahesh Nepali have filed candidacy in Mahendra Ratna Campus in Tahachal, claiming themselves as the official NSU panel. Dambar Karki and Dhiren Chand of the NSU have also filed their panels as independent candidates. The NSU has, however, recognised teh panel led by Nepali as its official panel.

Chandra Jung Bahadur Singh is leading teh ANNISU-R panel in the campus. ANNFSU’s authentic panel is led by Anil Rijal. ANNFSU’s Dipak Sitaula has filed candidacy for the post of FSU president as an independent candidate.

In Shankar Dev Campus, three panels of NSU led by Harish Chandra Bhandary, Prakash Maharjan and Shuva Ram Basnet have filed candidacy. Basnet has been recognised as official by the NSU. Two panels of ANNFSU led by Rajan KC and Dwarika Upreti have filed candidacy in Shankar Dev.

In Padma Kanya College, two panels of NSU led by Swastika Pokhrel and Tulasa Panta have filed candidacy even though the NSU has recognised Pokhrel-led panel. ANNFSU and ANNISU-R panels in PK are led by Ambika Basnet and Menuka Baral, respectively.

In Nepal Humanities College(earlier known as RR College), both NSU and ANNFSU have faced dissent. Two panels of NSU led by Shankar Tiwari and Jayaram Dahal have filed candidacy even as the NSU has authorised Tiwari’s panel as the official NSU panel. Challenging the ANNFSU’s authentic panel led by Raj Kumar Rai, a panel led by RC Lamichhane has also filed candidacy. Surendra Basnet leads the ANNISU-R in this college.

In Tri-Chandra, NSU’s authentic panel is led by Binaya Raj Bhatta whom dissident Prachanda Bikram Neupane has challenged.

The ANNFSU has faced dissent in Amrit Science College. While authentic panel is led by Kamal Basnet, the dissident panel is led by Binod Khulal.

The NSU has fielded panels led by Likhit Shrestha in Public Youth Campus, Krishna Kattel in Fine Arts College, Kumar Basnet in Patan Multiple College, Manoj Katuwal in Nepal Commerce Campus Minbhawan, Gyan Bahadur Khadka in Sanothimi Campus, Manoj Kumar Poudel in Medicine Campus Maharajgunj, Deepika Shrestha in Nursing Campus Maharajgunj, Saroj Karki in Pulchowk Engineering Campus and Jitendra Shrestha in Thapathali Engineering Campus.

Likewise, the ANNFSU has fielded panels led by Lal Kaji Lama in Fine Arts College, Yogendra Bohora in Public Youth, Jhapindra Khatri in Patan, Bishnu Hari Pande in Nepal Commerce, Shyam Sundar Basnet in Sanothimi, Asha Rai in Nursing Campus, Prakash Sapkota in Pulchowk and Prithvi Khanal in Thapathali Campus.

The ANNISU-R has fielded teams led by Chooda-mani Giri in Medicine College, Sarita Prajapati in Nursing, Shushanta Adhikary in Fine Arts, Gopal Rokaya in Pulchowk and Purna Bista in Minbhawan.