Pledge to keep Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari intact

Biratnagar, January 11

Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Physical Planning and Construction Bijay Kumar Gachhadar today pledged to do everything possible to keep the districts of Jhapa, Morang and Sunsari intact.

Further, Gachhadar held that the idea of splitting the three districts was an extremist view.

Talking to mediapersons at Biratnagar airport, Gachhadar claimed that Biratnagar would be the Capital of Province No 1.

“People from Saptari, Sarlahi and Siraha might agree to making Biratnagar their capital, but his party would not agree to divide Morang, Sunsari and Jhapa at any cost,” Gachhadar added.

Gachhadar pointed out that due to its historical importance and infrastructure development Biratagar would be the most suitable place for a provincial capital.

Gachhadar, who is also chairman of Madhesi Janadhikar Forum-Democratic, said his party was ready to accept two provinces in the Tarai if the major parties and the agitating United Democratic Madhesi Front agreed to the same with the current seven-province federal model in the country.

“Our party, however, is in favour of having three pradeshes in the plains with eight provinces in total,” Gachhadar added.

Gachhadar remarked that it was not necessary to form a commission to determine the boundaries of the new federal set up. “This is a political problem.

Thus, it has to be resolved politically,” Gachhadar said.