Ambassador of India to Nepal, Vinay Mohan Kwatra and Minister for Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Basanta Kumar Nembang jointly dedicated to the people of Nepal the Tarai roads built with the grant assistance of Government of India.

Rabindranath Shrestha, Secretary, Keshab Kumar Sharma, Joint Secretary in the Ministry of Physical Infrastructure and Transport, Arjun Jung Thapa, Director General, Department of Roads, Rohit Kumar Bisural, Project Director of Postal Highway Directorate, and Dr Praphullachandra Sharma, Head of Projects Wing in the Indian Embassy were present at the ceremony.

Under a Memorandum of Understanding between Nepal and India regarding strengthening of road infrastructure in the Tarai region, Government of Nepal had identified ten priority roads to be built under the Government of India funding of NRs 800 crores. The Tarai roads, also called Hulaki Rajmarga, connect major towns located along the East-West highway with India-Nepal border.

The ten roads are located in seven border districts of Provinces 1, 2 and Lumbini Province, and ease the commute for people of over 284 wards, 149 villages, 18 rural municipalities, 18 municipalities, and one sub-metropolitan city.

The roads have been built as per the specifications prescribed by the Nepal government's Department of Roads. Each road has a seven-metre carriage way and two metres of shoulders on both sides. The roads also include drainage, foot paths with railings in habitation areas, road signage boards, road markings and other road furniture.

Under the project, over 652 culverts and over 111 kilometres of drainage network have also been built, stated the Embassy of India.