Janajatis form front

Kathmandu, December 1:

With an aim to pressuring authorities concerned to ensure rights of indigenous nationalities and minorities in the new constitution, a 41-member political front was formed through a national symposium organised here today.

The day-long symposium drafted a 21-point Kathmandu Declaration and has formed National Adibashi Janajati Republican Front. The front includes Kishor Kumar Bishwas, Kamal Chharahang, Laxman Tharu, Atal Man Rai, Ganesh Gurung, Sakun Sherchan and Upendra Gachchhadhar among others.

According to Bishwas, the Front’s meeting to be held tomorrow will decide its plans and strategies. “We’ll organise mass meetings of indigenous nationalities in different parts of the country to create awareness about their rights,” he said. He added that the Front would submit an ultimatum to the government and would organise a strong movement across the nation.

Addressing the symposium, speakers claimed that the indigenous nationalities representing the parties in the CA were puppets of their parties and that they could not represent and fight for indigenous groups.

The 21-point charter sought implementation of ILO convention, among others.