Left alliance bags five NA seats in Province 4

Pokhara, February 8

Five candidates from the left alliance and three from the Nepali Congress in Province 4 have been elected to the National Assembly.

As per the election results made public on Wednesday night, UML’s Ganesh Timilsina, CPN-MC’s Dina Nath Sharma and NC’s Surendra Pandey were elected from the open category, while in women’s category NC’s Binda Devi Ale Rana, and UML’s Dipa Gurung and Shanti Gurung were elected.

Similarly, CPN-MC’s Khim Bahadur BK from Dalit category and NC’s Prakash Panth from disabled or minority group had already been elected unopposed for the membership.

Twelve candidates had filed their nomination for eight NA members in Province 4. As many as 170 chiefs and deputy chiefs of local levels and 60 provincial members had cast their votes while Rajiv Gurung of Manang didn’t take part in the election.

Election officer Dipendra Adhikari said two polling centres, one each for the chiefs and deputy chiefs of the local levels and provincial members, were set up. Though the election was over at noon on Wednesday, vote counting started from 4:00pm.