Left alliance wins all seats in Chitwan

CHITWAN: Left alliance candidates, including CPN-Maoist Centre Chairperson Pushpa Kamal Dahal, won the elections in all three parliamentary and six provincial constituencies in Chitwan.

CPN-MC Chair Dahal was elected to the Parliament from Constituency No 3, defeating his closest rival Bikram Pandey of the democratic alliance by 9,314 votes. Dahal garnered 48,276 votes while Pandey received 38,935 votes.

Dahal had also been elected from Kathmandu-10 and Rolpa-2 in the first Constituent Assembly polls and from Siraha-5 in the second CA polls.

UML Standing Committee member and former finance minister Surendra Pandey won the parliamentary election from Constituency No 1. Pandey secured 51,080 ballots while his closest rival Rajendra Burlakoti of NC bagged 35,360 ballots. This is the second time that Pandey has defeated Burlakoti in election. Earlier, Pandey had defeated Burlakoti during the second CA elections.

While in Constituency No 2, UML district Chair Krishna Bhakta Pokhrel clinched the parliamentary seat defeating his closest rival Shesh Nath Adhikari of NC who is also state education minister. Pokhrel garnered 44,670 votes against Adhikari’s 27,314 votes.

Earlier, Pokhrel had emerged victorious from then Constituency No 3 of the district in the second CA elections, whereas Adhikari had won the election from then Constituency No 2.

In provincial assembly elections, left alliance candidates Dawa Dorje Lama and Krishna Khanal were elected from Constituency-1 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ respectively. Ghanshyam Dahal and Bijaya Subedi of the alliance won the election from the Constituency-3 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ respectively, whereas Krishna Prasad Bhurtel and Ram Lal Mahato won from Constituency No 4 ‘Ka’ and ‘Kha’ respectively.