LBRC to invite leaders, tech panel members of province 2

Kathmandu, November 27

The Local Bodies Restructuring Commission is planning to invite leaders of political parties and members of technical committees of province no. 2 to the centre to finalise the reports.

The LBRC will invite the leaders in a day or two, said an LBRC source.

The constitutional body, which is mandated to determine the number and boundaries of local bodies, has not been able to prepare even the preliminary report of province 2 due to obstruction from agitating Madhesi parties.

“We are planning to invite political leaders and members of district technical assistance committees to the centre to prepare the final reports,” an LBRC source said. He said the commission will invite leaders and DTAC members within a couple of days to its central office.

The commission has been preparing to unveil its complete report and submit it to the government. The source informed that it would take three to four hours to prepare the reports.

Earlier, the LBRC had sought government help in solving the problems its technical committees are facing in eight Tarai districts from Saptari to Parsa or a bigger mandate to determine the local bodies in these districts without having to rely on the DTACs.

The commission had asked the DTACs of those eight districts to submit their reports by November 27. “We will prepare reports of the eight districts on the basis of the suggestions of political leaders and DTAC members,” said LBRC member Sunil Ranjan Singh.

The LBRC source said that the commission has been preparing to submit its report within a week. The LBRC said had completed the final reports of 10 districts till today.

The government has asked the commission to submit its report at the earliest. Apart from the eight districts that include Saptari, Siraha, Dhanusha, Mahottari, Sarlahi, Rautahat, Bara and Parsa, the other districts have already submitted their reports on the number and boundaries of local bodies.

The commission plans to have 507 to 744 local bodies, including village councils and municipalities.