All elected local representatives in Saptari's Rajbiraj Municipality have resigned from their posts.

Mayor Shambhu Prasad Yadav, Deputy Mayor Sadhana Jha, along with the ward chairperson and members of all the wards of the local level have resigned.

The resignation comes in line with the Election Commission's provision that mandates elected local representatives to submit their resignation if they wish to contest the upcoming local level elections. While the deputy mayor, ward chairpersons and members tendered their resignation to Mayor Yadav, Yadav himself tendered his resignation to Chief Administrative Officer Bhogendra Prasad Yadav.

While handing over his resignation to the chief administrative officer, Mayor Yadav had also presented details of the development works he had carried out during his tenure. Listing his works in the field of road and ditch construction, education and health, Yadav also expressed his wish to go to the people for a fresh mandate.

"I will go to the people once again seeking another term, and it will be my test. Let's see whether people trust me for the post again," he said. Just yesterday, Bishnupur Rural Municipality Chair Lilambar Yadav too had resigned from his post. He was elected representing the Nepali Congress. He had tendered his resignation to CAO Lalan Yadav.

A version of this article appears in the print on April 23, 2022, of The Himalayan Times.