Long awaited decision for Province 3 capital, name made

HETAUDA: A voting process on Sunday confirmed the decision to name Province 3 ‘Bagmati’ and maintain Hetauda as its permanent capital.

As many as 105 members were in favour of Hetauda being the province capital whereas three voted against it.

In favour of Hetauda, Nepal Communist Party (NCP), Nepali Congress, Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Samyukta), and Nepal Workers Peasants Party, after initially registering the proposal at Hetauda-based provincial assembly secretariat, cast their votes whereas Sajha Bibeksheel expressed dissatisfaction with Hetauda being made the capital.

Amid minor disagreements, and with two-thirds majority, Hetauda became the permanent capital after the majority voted against Dhulikhel in Kavrepalanchowk as the province capital. Dhulikhel, registered by Sajha Bibeksheel, lost in the race with only three votes in its favour.

NCP (NCP)'s provincial assembly members Chandra Lama, Ratna Dhakal, Basundhara Humagain and Laxman Lamsal, who were elected from Kavre, did not show their presence and did not cast their vote.

In the provincial assembly, NCP (NCP) has 80 seats, Nepali Congress 22, Bibeksheel three, Nepal Workers Peasants Party has two, and Rastriya Prajatantra Party, Rastriya Prajatantra Party (Samyukta), independent candidate have one seat each. Speaker Sanu Kumar Shrestha and independent lawmaker Prem Bahadur Tamang didn't cast their vote. The Speaker is provisioned only to cast the decisive vote, if necessary.

Meanwhile, 108 votes were in favour of naming Province 3 'Bagmati' wherein everyone cast their votes except Tamang.

(Translated by Madhavi Marasini)