Mahara, Pokhrel file candidacies from Dang

Dang, November 3

As per the recently formed alliance, CPN-MC leader and former foreign minister Krishna Bahadur Mahara and CPN-UML influential leader Shankar Pokhrel are contesting from Dang in the upcoming parliamentary and provincial elections.

While Mahara filed his nomination for the parliamentary election from Constituency No 2, Pokhrel’s nomination is for a provincial assembly candidate. Both the leaders filed their nominations together at the office of chief election officer today. The other provincial assembly candidate from the constituency is Amar Bahadur Dangi, who is a former mayor.

Mahara, former foreign, home and information and communication minister, is serving as the minister without portfolio under the incumbent government. UML leader Pokhrel, on the other hand, is former information and communication minister.

In Dang-1, UML’s central member Metmani Chaudhary has filed his nomination for the parliamentary election while Indrajit Tharu and Rewatiraman Sharma have filed their nominations for provincial polls. Tharu had won in the first Constituent Assembly election by defeating NC’s Khum Bahadur Khadka.

In constituency No 3, UML’s Uttar Kujmar Oli and CPN-MC’s Jagat Prasad Sharma have filed their nominations for provincial seats while UML’s Hirachyandra KC has filed his nomination for the parliamentary seat. All three candidates are new faces.

Meanwhile, Nepali Congress’s Sushila Chaudhary, Raju Khanal and Dipak Giri have filed their nominations for parliamentary seats from Dang constituencies- 1, 2, and 3 respectively. NC leaders Pradip Thapa and Janakilal Basnet, Bharat Bahadur Neupane and Kamalkishor Ghimire, and Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary and Buddhiram Bhandari have filed nominations for provincial candidates from the same constituencies. While Dilli Bahadur Chaudhary is serving minister for labour and employment, Sushila Chaudhary, along with Khanal, Giri and Bhandari are former lawmakers.

Besides, Rastriya Janamorcha, Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Rastrabadi and Rastriya Janamukti Party have also filed their nominations in the district.