Many contenders for speaker’s post

Dhangadi, February 8

With the election of speaker for Province 7 fixed for February 12, speculations have begun over who would bag the post. Leftist alliance comprising CPN-UML and CPN-MC have won majority of seats where UML is poised to get the speaker’s post and the other alliance partner the post of the chief minister as per an agreement between the parties.

UML provincial lawmakers Arjun Bahadur Thapa (Bajhang), Purna Joshi (Doti), Maya Bhatta (Baitadi) and Pathansingh Bohora (Dadeldhura) are seen as the prospective candidate for the provincial speaker.

However, party insiders said Bohora or Thapa had strong chances of bagging it. Though some have also seen Tara Lama, elected from Kanchanpur, as the potential candidate, the leader himself is said to be rather interested in becoming the party’s Parliamentary Party leader. UML Parliamentary Party meeting due to convene in a few days is expected to name the speaker on the basis of the decision of the party provincial committee.

As for the election of the speaker, provincial assembly secretariat joint secretary Murari Mahat published the schedule for Monday at 1:00pm.