Voting for the vacant post of National Assembly from Bagmati Province has ended.

In the by-poll held Thursday, 337 votes were cast while 10 voters remained absent. The voting was open till 3 pm.

Four of the ten absentees were members of the Bagmati Province Assembly while other six were local representatives.

Chairperson of Helambu Rural Municipality, Sindhupalchowk, Nima Gyanjen Sherpa; Vice-Chair of Mailung Rural Municipality, Dolakha, Kopila Pandit; Chair of Bigu Municipality, Yudhisthir Khadka; and Chair of Khaniyabas Municipality, Dhadhing, Rana Bahadur Tamang -- all from Nepali Congress, were absent.

Likewise, from the CPN-UML, Vice Chair of Mailung Rural Municipality, Kalpana Bhandari was absent.

Mayor of Bhaktpur, Sunil Prajapati from Nepal Majdoor Kisan Party also did not take part in the voting process.

Likewise, Biraj Bhakta Shrestha, Shobha Shakya and Ramesh Poudyal from Bibeksheel Sajha Party, and CPN- Maoist Centre lawmaker Himali Gole abstained from casting their votes.

Of the total 348 votes, 105 votes were from members of Bagmati Province Assembly and 232 from local representatives.

In an unfortunate incident, one of the voters passed away recently.

As many as 20 local representatives and five provincial members who are Covid-19 positive also cast their votes today.