NA election vote counting begins

All but eight voters cast their votes across six provinces that went to polls to elect 32 Upper House members

Kathmandu, February 7

The Election Commission said the National Assembly election was held peacefully, enthusiastically and all but eight voters cast their votes across six provinces that went to polls today.

Of the 1,677 members of NA electoral college in six provinces, 1,669 cast their votes. Election was not held in Province 2, as all eight NA members were elected unopposed.

Addressing a press conference after the voting was over, Chief Election Commissioner Ayodhi Prasad Yadav said, “Counting started in six provinces after the voting was over.”

As many as 52 candidates were vying for the 32 seats that went to polls today.

The election was not held in Province 2, as all eight members from the province were elected unopposed earlier. Sixteen other members from other provinces were also elected unopposed.

Voting began from 10:00am in all the provinces as scheduled.

The election in Province 1 was held for only two posts reserved for minority groups and Dalits. Of the 367 voters, 364 cast their ballots. Of them, 272 were the chiefs and deputy chiefs of local levels while 92 were provincial assembly lawmakers.

Makalu Rural Municipality Chairperson Khadka Prasad Katuwal was killed in an accident, while Taplejung’s Mikwakhola Rural Municipality Vice-chair Rudra Kumari Sawa and provincial assembly member Bishnu Tumwahamphe of Federal Democratic Rastriya Manch didn’t cast their votes.

All the 229 votes were cast in Pokhara, where Province 4 NA election was held. According to Regional Election Office Chief Ganga Lal Subedi, all 170 chiefs and deputy chiefs of the local levels and 59 provincial assembly members cast their votes, but Rajiv Gurung alias Dipak Manage, who was elected provincial member from Manang, was deprived of the right to vote, as he was convicted in a case of attempt to murder by the Supreme Court. Prakash Panth was elected unopposed to a seat reserved for a differently-abled person.

In Province 5, 303 of 305 provincial members cast their votes. Rupandehi provincial member Bina Panta and Banke’s Naharainapur Rural Municipality Chair Stiyad Ahmad Sah didn’t exercise their franchise. Komal Oli of Dang from the CPN-UML, Mina Budha of Rolpa from the CPN-UML and NC’s Anita Devkota of Dang were elected unopposed in the province earlier.

Hundred per cent votes were cast in Province 6 in the election held in Birendranagar, Surkhet. Forty provincial assembly and 158 local level members took part in the election, as per election officer Medani Prasad Poudel. Five candidates from UML, four from NC and three from CPN-MC are in fray from the province.

In Province 7, of the 229 members 227 members cast their votes in Dipayal. Two provincial members Malamati Rana Tharu and Krishna Kumar Chaudhary didn’t cast their votes. The election was held for two seats -- one reserved for Dalits and the other for a differently-abled person or one from minority groups.