Kathmandu, February 6:

The Constitution Drafting Recommendation Committee of the Nepali Congress today decided to prepare a comprehensive programme to collect views from the people on future constitution.

The party also expanded the committee headed by central member Chakra Prasad Bastola. Mahadev Yadav, Harihar Dahal, Surendra Chaudhari, Dr Govinda Regmi, Aangelu Sherpa and Mamata Thebe have been inducted into the committee as its new members. Meanwhile, the party has appointed coordinators to lead the party’s teams to 14 zones to collect information about the situation of conflict victims.

The coordinators appointed by the party’s Peace Process and Conflict Victim Monitoring and Coordination Committee headed by central member Binaya Dhoj Chand who will submit their reports to the party central working committee by mid-March.

The coordinators have been assigned to prepare reports on the status of the implementation of past agreements including the comprehensive peace accord. The panels will also monitor the status of the return of property seized by the Maoists during the conflict period. A press release issued by the party here today said the panels will also assess the situation of the families of the persons killed by the Maoists during the insurgency.

The party has been accusing the Maoists, who lead the government, of breaching past agreements by not returning the seized property and not allowing displace people to return to their villages.