Nepal to chair UN panel on reimbursement distribution

KATHMANDU: Nepal's Permanent Representative to the United Nations (UN) in New York, Durga Prasad Bhattarai, has been elected the Chairman of the UN Working Group on the Working Methods of the Contingent-Owned Equipment (COE WG) for 2017.

Bhattarai was unanimously elected the COE WG Chairman on the first day of meeting of the organisation on Monday, according to a statement issued by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

The organisation holds triennial meeting to review the methodology of UN reimbursement to various countries for their contributions to the UN peacekeeping operations in terms of equipment.

This is the first time that Nepal has been entrusted to chair the COE WG since its establishment in 1996, the statement informed.

Nepal Army Brigadier-General Suresh Thapa and other senior military officials and officials of the Permanent Mission of Nepal in New York have been participating in the meeting, which would conclude on January 27.

Meanwhile, Royal Norwegian Navy Major KA Andersen has been elected the Vice-Chair of the organisation.

The report of the COE WG would be the basis for updating of the existing COE manual.