Phidim, May 23

Nepali Congress has picked its candidates for the seven rural municipalities of Panchthar district for the second phase of local elections due on July 14.

The candidates were selected today following a three-day regional committee meeting.

As per the party decision, Sanch Kumar Kerung, Sher Bahadur Nugo, Samar Bahadur Adhikari, Bam Prasad Lawati, Khadga Sundar Lawati, Amar Nembang and Hom Prasad Thapa have been selected to run for the post of chairperson from Phalelung, Yangwarak, Hilihang, Kummayak, Miklajung, Phalgunanda and Tumbeba rural municipalities respectively.

As for vice-chairperson candidates, selections have been made for all but three rural municipalities. “In these three rural municipalities, vice-chairperson candidates are yet to be selected as the party is mulling over an electoral alliance with CPN-MC or Rastriya Prajatantra Party,” said NC district Secretary Rup Narayan Jabegu, who added that it would take a few days for the party to finalise the names for the top two posts at Phidim Municipality.

“As of now, we’ve sent our recommendations to the centre. Now it’s up to the central leadership to pick deserving candidates from among the recommended names,” he said, adding, “We’ve recommended two names — Mitra Prasad Kafle and Onahang Nembang — for the post of mayor, while the recommended deputy candidates are Madhu Jabegu and Urmila Shrestha Pradhan.”

Meanwhile, the CPN-UML is said to be in the final stage of selecting its candidates, CPN-MC is now busy with election campaigning.